Division I · Big South Conference
Gardner-Webb University · Campus
Boiling Springs, NC · Rural · Private · Doctoral/professional university · the Runnin' Bulldogs · Website ↗
Built for athletes. The numbers a recruit needs and a coach won't volunteer: roster room, the money behind the program, admissions fit, what a family really pays, campus life and safety.
Rural, some distance from a city
Setting
Boiling Springs, NC
1,840
Undergraduates
+ 1,285 graduate students
11:1
Student–faculty
Division I median 16:1
69%
Return for year two
Division I median 83%
41%
From out of state
+ 2% from abroad
$11k
Food & housing
on campus · median $13k
The place
- SettingRural, some distance from a city Boiling Springs, NC
- TypePrivate · Doctoral/professional university
- CalendarSemester
- Religious affiliationSouthern Baptist
- Admissions87% admitted · admissions
Setting is the NCES locale of the campus address. Schools within 100 miles are on the overview.
Who is on campus
Students
1,8401,285
Undergraduates 1,840Graduate students 1,285
Where first-years come from
54%41%
In state 54%Other states 41%Abroad 2%
Division I median: 72% in state.
Undergraduates by race and ethnicity
50%16%26%
White 50%Hispanic 4%Black 16%Asian 1%Two or more 2%American Indian 1%Not reported 26%
- Women67%
- Full-time86% of undergraduates · median 89%
- First-year class411 entered last fall
- Transfers in243 13% of undergraduates, last fall
- Online36% take some classes online 28% fully online
- Registered with disability services3% or fewer of undergraduates
Living there
| Where you live | Food & housing | Other expenses | A year |
|---|---|---|---|
| On campus | $10,770 | $2,400 | $13,170 |
| Off campus | $5,700 | $2,600 | $8,300 |
| With family | — | $5,300 | $5,300 |
The school's own budget figures for a year, on top of tuition and fees — the Division I median for on-campus food and housing is $13,310. Athletic aid can cover room and board; the full cost picture.
Services a recruit asks about
- ROTCArmy
- Study abroadOffered
- Veteran and military supportNot reported
- Campus safety0.11 violent / 1,000 a year · the safety page top 10% for safety in Division I
- Degrees offeredAssociate's · Bachelor's · doctoral · Master's · majors
Division I campuses
66%19%13%
City 66%Suburb 19%Town 13%Rural 3%
66% of the 366 Division I schools are public; the median has 9,822 undergraduates and a 16:1 student-faculty ratio.
Where it ranks
#10Transfersof 366 · Division I#11Smallestof 366 · Division I#17Most womenof 366 · Division I#51Class sizeof 366 · Division I
Among Division I schools; every list Gardner-Webb University is on.
Filter every program by setting, size, distance from home, cost and campus safety — then email the coaches from Gmail.Start your board